Sign Up

Tribal Directory Locations: South Dakota

<p>South Dakota has been inhabited by Native Americans for nearly 10,000 years, with the Arikara, Cheyenne, Crow, Kiowa, and Pawnee tribes being the first to call the land home. However, the Sioux Nation (Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota tribes) drove out other tribes in the 18th century. To survive, Sioux Nation tribes traded furs along the Missouri River and followed buffalo herds for food, clothing, and shelter. The Sioux Nation has maintained four cardinal virtues throughout history; wisdom, bravery, fortitude, and generosity. Today, over 70,000 Natives live in the state. Also, South Dakota includes nine federally recognized tribes, Cheyenne River Sioux, Crow Creek Sioux, Flandreau Santee Sioux, Lower Brule Sioux, Oglala Sioux, Rosebud Sioux, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate, Standing Rock Sioux, and the Yankton Sioux.</p>
Copyright © 2023, Native America, All rights Reserved